Home » Uncategorized » The moment, through Chickadoodle’s eyes

The moment, through Chickadoodle’s eyes

Tuesday, July 15th, 2014, 5:30 PM

My team has exercised its constitutional inability to have meetings run on time or for the prescribed length of the meeting. I tear out of the office, hitting traffic and every single [censored] red light, and then, I’m home. The boyfriend and I are headed to the nice little Vietnamese restaurant a few blocks from our apartment to get dinner. It’s been exactly three and a half years since he first asked me out, and we figure that’s as fine an occasion as any to get dinner.

Tuesday, July 15th, 2014, 6:30 PM

After a wonderful dinner and the best freakin’ limeade on the face of this planet, we head back to our apartment to watch some Avatar: the Last Airbender. (I still haven’t seen the entire series. Don’t judge me.) I’m raring to get my laptop, but the boyfriend steers me towards the couch, insisting that he has something to give me.

I am handed this little book. I thumb through all 50 pages, feeling warmer and fuzzier with every one. Cuddled as we are, I notice that the further in I get, the more the boyfriend’s heart picks up, if only a bit. Upon reaching the end, I flip to what should be the final leaf, noticing that it’s sticking up a little bit. On it, there is a sticky note. “And now, I have something I want to ask you.”

Oh.

My.

God.

I glance between the note and the boyfriend once or twice, the meaning of it dawning on me.

I’m not entirely sure whether I say “Well?” or just manage some sort of strangled, vaguely questioning noise.

You can guess what happens next.

You can guess what my response is. Thankfully, one word is all I needed to manage.

It’s perfect—the proposal I never knew I wanted.

(We also did watch some Avatar, by the way. I mean, isn’t that what all newly engaged couples do?)

Tuesday, July 22nd, 8:00 PM

But now, a week afterward, just what I’ve signed up for is dawning on me. Not the “spending the rest of my life with him” part—that, I’m incredibly excited for. No, it’s that there is a wedding to be planned, and knowing that is far different than how I’d imagined. I have to understand things like makeup (people wear makeup at weddings?!), food (people eat at weddings?!), venues (people need a place for their weddings?!) and, well, people (PEOPLE ATTEND WEDDINGS?!). Thankfully, we’ve a while to get this all sorted.

Right now, I’m just enjoying life with the fiancé. It’s not really any different, except that the happiness is on a completely different level. It’s more than I know how to put into words. Thankfully, most of the time, I don’t really need them.

One thought on “The moment, through Chickadoodle’s eyes

  1. Pingback: Looking backward, moving forward | I am Chickadoodle; Hear Me... rawr

Leave a Reply

