Home » Uncategorized » Why I love fall

Why I love fall

I love fall. It is my favorite season by far. Just coming out of summer in the beginning, rolling into winter… it’s amazing through and through. The sunny, warm days give way to the days where the sun, warm on your back or your face or your toes, cuts through the brisk breeze that brings the crisp, leafy scent of autumn swirling around you. Those, in turn, blend into the blustery entrance of winter. I would say that we get snow, but living in the Pacific Northwest… well, we got about two feet of snow 5 years ago. It was nice… until it sucked. When you live in a city that isn’t entirely prepared for that, keeping from going stir-crazy is a little difficult. (And, on a technicality, this was, for the most part, during fall. Winter doesn’t begin until December 21st!)

But it’s not just the weather.

It’s the scarves and hats and long-sleeved shirts. Is the jackets. It’s the boots, the shoes, the socks… all these warm clothes—fresh out of the dryer or no. (And when those fail, the layers. Oh, the layers!) And then there are the blankets. There is nothing so wonderful as wrapping up in a blanket, or throwing another one (especially my lovely fleece-y thing) on the bed. And cozying up to the fire… especially with someone else! :3

It’s also the food. Chili and soups, hardy salads, mashed potatoes, pies, squashes, apples, and so much more are all raining down from the sky, it seems. The weather is perfect for baking, by the way. Unless it’s pie crusts… bloody difficult things. They’re a pain to make, but well worth it. And then there’s the stuff I don’t make for myself. No, I am not a “pumpkin spice ERRTHANG!” girl—I’m more partial to my salted caramel hot chocolate and my caramel apple spice. Also, maple bars. To me, they are inherently autumnal. Doesn’t hurt that I love maple.

And the scenery… oh, the scenery! (Hey, it’s not weather!) I love all the colors of the leaves. And the sunrises and sunsets are glorious. Even the fog and mist are amazing. Just this morning, fog banded around the top of the moraine I work near, and it was stunning. There’s the corn mazes (city girl, but within reasonable driving distance of some really fun farms), the hay bales, the sunflowers, the pumpkins, and all the bountiful harvest. But it doesn’t stop outdoors; oh no! There’s the fire in the fireplace, the table cloths, the low lights, the throws…

But, even more simply than that, it’s the family. Fall brings us together. The other seasons do, too, but there is nothing like bundling up together to sit around and chat. It’s the time of year when I get to see my brother most reliably. (Like I said, December 21st is the official start of winter!) It’s the time of year when the family sits by the fire eating cheese and nuts and drinking wine. It’s the time of year when we all come together because it’s too short to go elsewhere. (That makes it sound like we don’t love each other, but we do!)

Fall is, to me, the grand wrap-up of the year; the bountiful harvest that gently maneuvers out the old and parades right in with the new. It is glorious. It is beautiful. It is the season I feel most comfortable in.

I can’t name every reason why I love fall; some things are just mysterious like that. But I love it just the same.

Leave a Reply

