Home » Uncategorized » Daily Prompt: Million Dollar Question

Daily Prompt: Million Dollar Question

Why do I blog?

This one’s pretty simple: I have a lot to say, and a lot of it can be said publicly. I value interacting with others in regards to my thoughts, and while there isn’t a lot of interacting that goes on around here, there are enough friends and family who talk to me about what I write that I’m usually pretty okay with that.

I blog because Facebook notes just don’t work for me. I value my anonymity to a point. For all you know, I’ve been lying about being a college student because I’m actually a 40-year-old male professor running some sort of insane psychological experiment on a small part of the internet. To what end? I don’t know.

There’s also the issue of Facebook being mostly for shorter posts. Some of my posts have hit 1000 words, and I think one made it to almost 1500. That’s a lot to read, and a lot of people on Facebook will simply tl;dr the heck out of there. With blogs, there’s more often than not no telling what to expect, except that it’s probably between tens and hundreds times the length of your average tweet.

I write because words and thoughts are fascinating, and even though I don’t often get a lot of interaction other than views, I do check out a lot of other blogs. A lot of the time, I don’t really know what to say, so I don’t reach out, but I try when I can. A world of all mes is not fascinating. A world of me and you and everyone else too is. (Rhyme intentional.)

I write to remember. I write to process. I write to share. I write to inspire. I write to decompress. I write to empty out my head a little bit.

I write, therefore I am.

Leave a Reply

