Home » Uncategorized » Summa cum walrus

Summa cum walrus

Summa cum walrus

If you’re coming here from Facebook, chances are, you know at least part of this story, but if you aren’t, I need to repeat it.

My roommate, boyfriend, and another friend were having dinner and talking about grades, as it is the end of the quarter and we are all anxiously awaiting them. We got onto graduation, and the sort of honors one can get. The friend couldn’t quite remember the phrases–cum laude, magna cum laude, and summa cum laude–and suggested that there needed to be some sort of “with highest badassery” honors. We all agreed, and were trying to come up with something that kept the spirit of the phrase, as we’re pretty sure that “badass” has no exact translation in Latin. Given that badasses tend to be portrayed as having many victories, I went with the equivalent of “with highest victory”, which became “summa cum laurus”.

“Laurus”, of course, is really easy to mishear. Really, really easy to mishear, specifically as “walrus”. And what better entertainment for a bunch of college students than a really bad pun? “Summa cum walrus”, it was!

I tried to sketch one on my phone without much success. The photo is my roommate’s sketch, and I like it much better.

So, that’s the story. I kinda hope someone makes a plush of this walrus and gives it to me at graduation, but even if they don’t, I’ll always have the picture.

Leave a Reply

